Crysis Ultimate Alliance

What does the 2006 game Marvel Ultimate Alliance have in common with this year’s release of Dragon’s Crown? Do you have a guess? No, it’s not that I am or that I have played these two games despite being true. It’s that they both allow for simultaneous four-player brawling action.

The game I finished a week and a half ago was Marvel Ultimate Alliance. The last time I checked in with you about it I was 15.5 hours into the game near the end. After all was finished with MUA, I clocked in just under 20 hours and for most of the latter part of the game I stuck with the team of Captain America, Mr. Fantastic, Thing, and Wolverine. The Dhalsim punches of Mr. Fantastic were particularly helpful. I was also happy that my AI controlled allies who were usually on-the-ball with attacking my foes. Marvel Ultimate Alliance is my 22nd game finished for this calendar year.

As for Dragon’s Crown, I started it on the same day I was done with MUA. Since then I’ve put in 11 hours and 23 minutes into this absolutely beautiful looking beat-’em-up by Vanillaware. I chose to play as the Amazon and named her “BigAxe” because, you know, she has a big…axe. My dying message is “Where’s Xena when I need her?”

Finally two purchases I made at Best Buy yesterday was for Crysis 3 and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1987; Season 3). Crysis 3 was surprisingly just $15 and the season of TMNT ’87 was $10 for all 47 episodes (with no frills, of course).

When it comes to the TV shows over the years of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, I don’t enjoy the 1987 series as much as I used to. Sure I did while growing up. I mean, who didn’t? But it just doesn’t work for me these days especially since we now have the 2003 and 2012 series. I prefer the two more recent outings more, but just like with a season or two of Transformers and G.I. Joe, I don’t mind owning a season of the ’87 TMNT show. It was a big part of my childhood after all.

One response to “Crysis Ultimate Alliance

Leave an intelligent comment for the Archive!

