Complete In Box Fridays: The Perils of Having Standards

Axelay, Castlevania Double Pack, and Lords of Thunder were the subjects of the last three Complete In Box Fridays articles. This week, however, I’ll be throwing out a theme instead. The theme is, oh how do I word it, complete in a somewhat crushed box? Yes, I do believe that will do. :D

The examples I have of this crushed box theme are the following three Game Boy Advance titles: Metal Slug Advance, Bruce Lee: Return of the Legend, and Dead to Rights.

My interest in Metal Slug Advance was solely because I didn’t realize the GBA had an entry from the Metal Slug series on it. It also had at least one new character who hasn’t appeared in any of the other games. I ended up purchasing it back in May of 2009 and played/finished it a year ago last January. Currently a complete copy goes for $20.50.

METAL SLUG ADVANCE: (click to enlarge)

Because it had fairly high scores from those who reviewed it, namely IGN and Nintendo Power, I chose to buy Bruce Lee: Return of the Legend in October 2008. I played and finished the game in December 2010 where I talked at length about how my experience with the game went. Hint: better than expected. It’s difficult to find information on the price of this rare game, but it seems to go for no more than about $15 at the moment.

BRUCE LEE: RETURN OF THE LEGEND: (click to enlarge)

Dead to Rights is a series I’ve never played despite owning the original game and its sequel on the PlayStation 2. They’re decent playing games from what I’ve read over the years. Of course I didn’t purchase Dead to Rights for the Game Boy Advance expecting anything other than the 33% rating it has received. I think it was more about me feeling sorry for the crushed GBA box I saw in Toys-R-Us in 2010. It was only $3 and I felt a need to rescue it. Needless to say I haven’t played this version yet. It’s current price is $11.

DEAD TO RIGHTS: (click to enlarge)

Thanks for reading and please look forward to episode 36 of the Hart and Usagi Podcast which should be available sometime this weekend at the earliest.

#CIBfridays

Leave an intelligent comment for the Archive!

