Wonder Boy in What the Fuck Do I Do World

Just like with Wonder Boy in Monster Land, I unfortunately can’t get into Wonder Boy in Monster World. This is game two of three in the PSN bundle which also includes Monster World IV.

As much as I was interested in what these games were like, I’ve found out that I don’t enjoy them nearly as much as I thought I might. It’s a risk I willingly take from time to time. I did the same in years past with the original Splinter Cell and it didn’t take very well either. Thankfully the risk does pay off from time to time. Examples of this are Tomb Raider: Legend and Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time among other titles.

I wasn’t too happy when I started to feel I needed an FAQ to know what to do within the first few minutes of playing Wonder Boy in Monster World. You must talk to a certain person who mentions about an ocarina (yeah this has one too, Zelda) and until you do the item in question will not show up where it’s suppose to. It’s one of *those* games of days gone by. I don’t miss them.

Another problem arises as soon as you obtain the ocarina. You have to stand on an area of ground which has music notes on it. Then you need to equip this item and activate it by pressing the A button and left or right (depending on which place you slotted it). Then you press a series of seven face buttons, but how you find out what these are in the game itself is beyond me. I only knew thanks to this FAQ.

I’m currently done playing this game. I wish I could get more into it, but I know it’s not going to happen at this point. Since I have Monster World IV I’m sure I’ll try it out sometime in the future, but it won’t be happening for quite awhile.

I think I’ll start F.E.A.R. 3 next.

Thanks for reading and remember to come play Burnout Paradise (with Big Surf Island) with members of Evil Guppy [GPY] next Friday, June 14th!

See you then!

One response to “Wonder Boy in What the Fuck Do I Do World

  1. Even back on the ol’ Sega Genesis, I wasn’t much of a Wonder Boy fan. I got a couple of the Wonder Boy games bundled in the Sega Genesis Classics Collection for PC (Gamersgate, DRM-free), but I don’t bother playing them.

Leave an intelligent comment for the Archive!

