Now Playing: May 2013

I played a bunch of games over the month of May. A majority of them were multiplayer sessions with SonicHomeboy and/or Usagi704. Check out this blog post entitled, fittingly so, Much Multiplayer, to read up on my time with Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition, Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers: The Movie for Genesis, Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection, and Super Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix.

The last two and a half weeks have consisted mainly of BioShock Infinite. I would cover it now, but this Tuesday will be a new recording of the Hart and Usagi Podcast. This will be where SonicHomeboy, lightnarcissus, and I will be talking in depth about this amazing game. Listen in, won’t you?

Back to multiplayer gaming, I played another three fighting games against Usagi. They were JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure HD Ver., Fatal Fury: Wild Ambition, and The King of Fighters ’98.

Just to get this one out of the way, the Fatal Fury game is decent, but lacks enough polish that playing vs. others isn’t much fun.

I actually had much more fun playing JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure and I know nothing about the anime or this game. I chose to play as Black Polnareff simply because I like his theme music. As it turned out the character is also easy to pick up and play. I had a few surprising wins which I can only attribute to my knowledge of many other Capcom fighting titles. I would definitely play Usagi again.

The King of Fighters ’98 was specifically the original PlayStation Japanese port downloaded from PSN. There’s a reason why this game holds up after 15 years. It’s because the game is damn glorious! If you want to play KoF ’98, and I suggest that you do, by all means pick up a copy of The King of Fighters ’98: Ultimate Match. It’s an even better version!

That’ll do it for me as of this moment. Don’t forget to check out the upcoming BioShock Infinite special of the Hart & Usagi Podcast!

Peace!

One response to “Now Playing: May 2013

  1. I did some major GPY negotiations with @madtyger and part of it was getting some clanners together to learn some fighters so we can have some real matches. JoJo is one of the accepted titles. I’ll probably try to find a video to link to all the Guppies that teaches basics of how to play fighters. Hopefully those types of vids are out there.

Leave an intelligent comment for the Archive!

